Due to the ongoing effects of the
coronavirus pandemic our History
Prize is currently suspended.

history prize - white lettering


The Yorkshire Society’s annual competition for academic essays on the history of Yorkshire was first held in 1987.

It is administered on the Society’s behalf by the University of Huddersfield and the high reputation of the Prize is maintained by an adjudication panel of experienced academics drawn from the Yorkshire Universities of Huddersfield, Hull, Leeds, Sheffield and York.

uni of hudds logo - gold

For further information or to enquire about the
History Prize, please write to:


The Beresford Award for longer essays of up to 10,000 words is worth £300, and the judges may make a second award of £150. For shorter essays, with a limit of 5,000 words, there is one prize, the Bramley Award, of £150.


Entries should be original, based on research and should not have been published already nor offered for publication. Any subject drawn from the history of places and people in traditional Yorkshire is usually acceptable. Successful essays have often been adapted subsequently for publication in learned journals.

Pin It on Pinterest